Ingredients
Vapofil Ingredients: Amounts for All Seven on the Label
Vapofil has seven itemised ingredients, 118 mg in each two-capsule serving.
Saw palmetto, wild yam, sarsaparilla and nettle leaf are 20 mg each, boron chelate is 20 mg (about 1 mg of elemental boron), tongkat ali is 10 mg and horny goat weed is 8 mg.
For the bottle's own wording, see the panel row by row.
Vapofil contains saw palmetto berry extract, wild yam root extract, sarsaparilla root extract and nettle leaf extract at 20 mg each; boron amino acid chelate 5% at 20 mg, which is about 1 mg of elemental boron; tongkat ali at 10 mg from a 100:1 extract; and horny goat weed at 8 mg from a 10:1 extract. Seven rows, 118 mg a serving. The other ingredients are microcrystalline cellulose, gelatin and magnesium stearate.
Saw Palmetto Berry Extract
Serenoa repens, berry · 20 mg per serving · Trials use roughly 320 mg a day of a standardised extract.
Saw palmetto is the best-known ingredient here and its research file is about the prostate, not about libido. Trials use roughly 320 mg a day of a standardised extract. This label carries 20 mg. The finding is unhelpful in both directions. NCCIH's 2023 review reports that saw palmetto “when administered alone, provides little or no benefit for BPH symptoms”, and says of everything else that “there is not enough evidence to determine whether saw palmetto is useful for other health purposes”. Sexual and hormonal effects are not addressed at all.
“this herb, when administered alone, provides little or no benefit for BPH symptoms”
National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health — Saw Palmetto
Cautions and interactions
NCCIH reports it is well tolerated and has been used safely in studies for up to three years, with mild digestive symptoms, dizziness and headache reported. It may be unsafe in pregnancy or breastfeeding.
Wild Yam Root Extract
Dioscorea villosa, root · 20 mg per serving · MSK's listed uses are menopausal symptoms, cough and rheumatoid arthritis.
Wild yam is in men's formulas because it contains diosgenin, which can be turned into steroid hormones in a laboratory. The inference people draw — that eating it raises your own hormones — does not hold. Memorial Sloan Kettering is explicit: “There is no evidence that the human body can convert diosgenin into progesterone.” Its listed uses are menopausal symptoms, cough and rheumatoid arthritis, and it calls the evidence for the first of those limited and mixed.
“There is no evidence that the human body can convert diosgenin into progesterone.”
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Wild Yam — About Herbs
Cautions and interactions
MSK notes wild yam has estrogenic effects and that patients with hormone-sensitive cancers should talk to their physicians before taking it.
Sarsaparilla Root Extract
Smilax species, root · 20 mg per serving · No citable dose could be sourced.
We could not find a monograph for sarsaparilla at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, at NCCIH, or at Memorial Sloan Kettering — the three bodies this desk uses. That does not make it unsafe or unusual; it is a traditional tonic herb with a long history. It means we have nothing citable to tell you about what it does, and this page will not reach for a supplement retailer's write-up to fill the gap.
No monograph found
We looked for this ingredient at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, at the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, and at Memorial Sloan Kettering’s About Herbs database. None of the three carries a monograph for it. That is not a finding against the ingredient; it is a statement about what this desk can responsibly tell you.
Cautions and interactions
Nothing citable. We are not going to describe interactions for an ingredient we could not find a monograph for.
Nettle Leaf Extract
Urtica dioica — label says leaf; the research is on the root · 20 mg per serving · MSK's monograph covers nettle root, in combination with saw palmetto, for BPH symptoms.
Nettle has the most encouraging file on this panel, and the label appears to specify the wrong part of the plant. MSK's monograph is for nettle root: “Several studies suggest nettle may help relieve symptoms of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) and osteoarthritis, but additional studies are needed.” This label says leaf. Root and leaf are different material with different traditional uses, and the BPH research is on the root. MSK also notes that in combination with saw palmetto, nettle “reduced nighttime urinary frequency” — which is the pairing on this panel, at a fraction of the doses used.
“Several studies suggest nettle may help relieve symptoms of benign prostatic hyperplasia (BPH) and osteoarthritis, but additional studies are needed.”
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Nettle — About Herbs
Cautions and interactions
MSK lists two do-not-take interactions: CYP450 substrate drugs, and diuretics or blood pressure medicines. Case reports include hypoglycaemia, and gynecomastia and galactorrhoea with nettle tea.
Boron Amino Acid Chelate 5%
as an amino acid chelate · 20 mg (about 1 mg elemental boron) per serving · Median dietary intake is 0.87 to 1.35 mg a day. The adult upper limit is 20 mg.
This is the row most likely to be misread, and the misreading is invited by the layout. The panel says 20 mg. The 5% in the ingredient name is the elemental boron content of the chelate, so the actual boron in a serving is 5% of 20 mg — about 1 mg. One milligram is roughly what an adult already gets from food in a day; the NIH puts median dietary intake at 0.87–1.35 mg. It is a reasonable, unremarkable amount and nowhere near the 20 mg upper limit. It is simply not the 20 mg figure the panel shows you. The NIH also says plainly that boron “is not classified as an essential nutrient for humans because research has not yet identified a clear biological function for boron.”
“Boron is not classified as an essential nutrient for humans because research has not yet identified a clear biological function for boron.”
NIH Office of Dietary Supplements — Boron — Health Professional Fact Sheet
Cautions and interactions
About 1 mg of elemental boron is an ordinary dietary amount and is far below the 20 mg upper limit. The NIH notes boron may have effects on the function of steroid hormones but records no specific testosterone finding.
Tongkat Ali
Eurycoma longifolia — 100:1 extract · 10 mg (≈ 1000 mg dry equivalent) per serving · No citable dose could be sourced at NIH ODS, NCCIH or MSK.
The headline ingredient, and the one with the most impressive arithmetic on the label: 10 mg of a 100:1 extract, which the panel says is equivalent to about 1000 mg of dry Tongkat Ali powder. Printing that equivalence is good practice and most labels do not bother. Two things to hold against it. First, an extract ratio is a statement about concentration, not about activity — the figure that would matter is standardisation to eurycomanone, the compound the research measures, and no standardisation is published here. Second, and more important: we could not find a monograph for tongkat ali at NIH ODS, NCCIH or MSK. The ingredient this product leads with is the one this desk has nothing citable to say about.
No monograph found
We looked for this ingredient at the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements, at the National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health, and at Memorial Sloan Kettering’s About Herbs database. None of the three carries a monograph for it. That is not a finding against the ingredient; it is a statement about what this desk can responsibly tell you.
Cautions and interactions
Nothing citable at the three bodies this desk uses. NCCIH's broader review of sexual-enhancement supplements states that “there is no definite evidence that any herbal products are effective or safe for ED”.
Horny Goat Weed
Epimedium sagittatum — 10:1 extract · 8 mg (≈ 80 mg dry equivalent) per serving · MSK describes traditional use for fatigue and sexual problems and says more studies are needed.
Epimedium has the longest traditional history in this category and the thinnest modern evidence. MSK's summary is one sentence: “Epimedium is traditionally used in herbal formulas for sexual dysfunction. More studies are needed to verify such effects.” The panel prints the ratio and the dry equivalent again — 8 mg of a 10:1 extract, about 80 mg of powder. As with the tongkat ali, what is missing is standardisation to icariin, which is the constituent the mechanism is proposed for.
“Epimedium is traditionally used in herbal formulas for sexual dysfunction. More studies are needed to verify such effects.”
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center — Epimedium — About Herbs
Cautions and interactions
MSK says do not take epimedium with heart disease, or with medicines metabolised by CYP3A4 or aromatase inhibitors. Reported effects include sweating, feeling hot, rapid irregular heartbeat and mood changes.
The two ratios, and what they do not tell you
Two rows on this panel carry an extract ratio, and both print a dry-powder equivalent beside it. That is better disclosure than the great majority of labels in this aisle, and it should be said before the criticism.
| Ingredient | Printed amount | Ratio | Stated dry equivalent | Standardised to |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tongkat ali | 10 mg | 100:1 | approximately 1,000 mg | Not published |
| Horny goat weed | 8 mg | 10:1 | approximately 80 mg | Not published |
A ratio describes a manufacturing step. One hundred kilograms of dried root reduced to one kilogram of extract is a 100:1 extract, and 10 mg of it fairly represents about a gram of the starting material by weight. What the ratio does not describe is what survived the step, or in what proportion.
The research on Eurycoma longifolia that exists at all is generally conducted on extracts standardised to a stated percentage of eurycomanone. The research on Epimedium is generally conducted on material standardised to icariin. Neither figure is on this label, so there is no way to line the bottle up against a study even where a study exists.
Why this is still worth crediting
Most labels in this category print a botanical name and a number and stop. This one prints the ratio and then does the reader’s arithmetic for them. If every supplement label in this aisle disclosed at this level, the aisle would be easier to read. The gap between disclosure and evidence is the manufacturer’s to close, not the label designer’s.
Everything in a Vapofil capsule, active and inactive
The panel and the Other Ingredients line together are the complete contents of the capsule. Nothing else is in it, and nothing else is claimed to be.
| Component | Amount | What it is doing |
|---|---|---|
| Saw palmetto berry extract | 20 mg | Active |
| Wild yam root extract | 20 mg | Active |
| Sarsaparilla root extract | 20 mg | Active |
| Nettle leaf extract | 20 mg | Active |
| Boron amino acid chelate 5% | 20 mg | Active — about 1 mg of elemental boron |
| Tongkat ali, 100:1 | 10 mg | Active |
| Horny goat weed, 10:1 | 8 mg | Active |
| Total actives | 118 mg | — |
| Microcrystalline cellulose | Not stated | Bulking agent and flow aid, the commonest capsule filler there is |
| Gelatin | Not stated | The capsule shell. An animal product, so this is not vegetarian |
| Magnesium stearate | Not stated | A lubricant that stops powder sticking to the machinery |
The three inactive ingredients are the standard set for a two-piece capsule and none of them is unusual or a cause for concern. The one that carries a decision is the gelatin: it rules the product out for vegetarians and vegans, and because the source animal is not stated it also leaves the question open for anyone who avoids pork or beef for religious reasons.
Microcrystalline cellulose is purified wood or cotton cellulose; it is inert and is in almost every capsule and tablet on a pharmacy shelf. Magnesium stearate is a magnesium salt of stearic acid, present in fractions of a percent, and the periodic claims that it suppresses immune function come from a 1990 study on isolated rat cells rather than from anything that describes a person swallowing a capsule.
What is not published
This list is the honest counterpart to the one above. Every item here is a fact a buyer might reasonably want and that this desk could not obtain from the bottle, the artwork or the seller pack.
- Standardisation for any of the seven ingredients. The extract ratios are printed; the markers are not.
- Eurycomanone content for the tongkat ali, which is the figure the research measures.
- Icariin content for the horny goat weed, for the same reason.
- Any monograph for sarsaparilla at NIH ODS, NCCIH or MSK.
- Any monograph for tongkat ali at NIH ODS, NCCIH or MSK.
- Whether the nettle is leaf or root. The label says leaf; the research is on the root.
- The source of the gelatin in the capsule shell — bovine, porcine or fish.
- A best-before date. None is legible on the images supplied.
- Pack prices. The seller pack routes pricing to the sales page.
- A Certificate of Analysis document. We have the reference VAP-2871-26-VA but not the file.
- The name of any testing laboratory.
- Any customer rating that could be verified. The pack states its own review data is layout copy.
None of these is unusual for the category, and several are not required by law. They are listed because a page that prints only what it has looks more complete than it is.
References
Every source below was opened and read. Where a quotation appears on this page, it is copied from the page linked here and not from a summary of it.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (2026). Saw Palmetto.
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (2026). Nettle — About Herbs.
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (2026). Wild Yam — About Herbs.
- Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center (2026). Epimedium — About Herbs.
- NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (2026). Boron — Health Professional Fact Sheet.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health (2026). Dietary Supplements Marketed for Weight Loss, Bodybuilding, and Sexual Enhancement: What the Science Says.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Tainted Sexual Enhancement Products.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Questions and Answers on Dietary Supplements.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter VI. Claims.
- U.S. Food and Drug Administration (2026). Dietary Supplement Labeling Guide: Chapter IV. Nutrition Labeling.
Read the panel first, then decide
Sixty capsules, two a day, seven actives itemised and two extract ratios printed — better label work than most of this aisle. What is missing is standardisation, and two of the seven ingredients have no monograph anywhere we looked. The live price and the 60-day return terms are both on the seller’s checkout screen.
60-day window · Questions first? Call +1 (302) 200-3480